European University Foundation (former Campus Europae)

Printer-friendly version

European University Foundation - (former Campus Europae) is a European network which aims at the promotion of high quality student mobility and contributing to educate a generation of European graduates with an innate understanding of Europe’s unity in diversity.

The European University Foundation (EUF) is a European network of universities which stands for diversity and social fairness in higher education and aims to accelerate the modernisation of the European Higher Education Area. The network deploys intensive cooperation and policy experimentation under five key pillars:


(1) Quality mobility for all

(2) Digital Higher Education both for governance and the provision of education

(3) Entrepreneurship and employability skills of graduates

(4) Policy innovation at national and European level

(5) Active citizenship of students


The network's key activities are designed to build capacity and expertise among administrative and academic staff members, to raise awareness of EU policy goals and actions, and to enable policy dialogue between practitioners, policy-makers and stakeholders.


The activities are underpinned by a modern approach to high quality student mobility - as a driver to advance and intensify cooperation in higher education. The network supports member universities in setting up strategic partnerships, knowledge alliances and capacity building activities to achieve the goals set in each of the pillars.


The main support and services offered to Aristotle University of Thessaloniki are:

  • Delivery of hands-on information on EU policies and calls for proposals

  • Organisation of trainings and conferences on European policy development and trends in higher education

  • Incubation and acceleration of EU project proposals from member universities

  • Provision of meeting and office space in Brussels for staff of member universities

  • Organisation of advocacy activities towards the European institutions (Commission, Parliament)

  • Contribution towards a greater visibility of member universities in the European Higher Education Area.


The EUF network consists of the following Higher Education institutions:

  • Austria University of Vienna
  • Ghent University
  • Czech Republic Charles University in Prague
  • Germany Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • Germany University of Hamburg
  • Spain University of Alcalá
  • Finland University of Eastern Finland
  • France University of Lorraine
  • France University of Nice Sophia Antipolis
  • Greece Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • Italy University of Naples Federico II
  • Latvia University of Latvia in Riga
  • Luxembourg University of Luxembourg
  • Poland Lodz University of Technology in close cooperation with University of Łódź and the Medical University of Łódź
  • Poland University of Warsaw
  • Portugal University of Aveiro
  • Russia Saint Petersburg State University

Additionally EUF maintains privileged partnerships with the following universities with a view to promote Human Rights in Higher Education and capacity building:

  • Lithuania European Humanities University in Vilnius
  • Russia Yaroslav-the-Wise Novgorod State University
  • Serbia University of Novi Sad


Email: Tel.: +352 26 15 10